TeeJaw Blog

What I’m Reading — Blue Heaven

Posted in Books by TeeJaw on Saturday, May 1, 2010, 10: 48 PM

Hugh Hewitt did a three-hour interview with mystery writer C.J. Box last Friday. Box was born and raised in Casper, WY and now lives somewhere near Cheyenne, my own hometown, so I was interested. I’d heard of him but hadn’t given it much thought. The Hewitt interview is available as a podcast but you’ll have to subscribe to The Hughinverse to get it.

Box first wanted to be a journalist and his first job was with a regional newspaper in Saratoga, WY. I assume without knowing that would be the Saratoga Sun. He stayed there for four years and in that time became closely acquainted with the Wyoming Game and Fish and the game wardens, often riding with them on their patrols. He later used and expanded the knowledge thus gained to write his first Joe Pickett mystery novel, Open Season.

Hewitt and Box both suggested a new reader begin with that one, but I decided to take a look at this one that is outside the Joe Pickett series:
blue heaven The story is set in North Idaho where LAPD cops go to retire. I’m only at midway but the mystery being told has me hooked enough that I’ll have to finish it. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it even though some of the dialog among the retired LAPD cops seems a bit unnatural. But maybe I’m too used to the seemingly-authentic cop talk that Joseph Wambaugh so easily recreates.

The retired LAPD cops in this novel are so depraved and evil you might think them lacking in literary verisimilitude, but I would disagree. There are real people this bad. I’m guessing the book will end with a catharsis of good triumphant over evil.

Perhaps not. Box seems a realist and in real life the good does not always win out over this sort of evil. A hero may emerge. There is one possibility that seems unlikely. It’s the unlikely heros that make good characters for a good story, though. Can’t wait to finish it.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

