TeeJaw Blog

Bernard Cornwell’s Richard Sharpe Series

Posted in Uncategorized by TeeJaw on Friday, July 22, 2011, 11: 31 AM

I’m not sure how many books Author Bernard Cornwell has written, I think it’s 40 or more. Cornwell writes historical novels and the Richard Sharpe books, as least the adventure series, follow the life of a fictional British Army soldier during the Napoleonic wars. There are 21 books that make up Sharpe’s Adventure Series and Sharpe’s Early Years. Millions of loyal fans have read all of Cornwell’s books and there’s a companion guide to The Early Years series written by a British Army Major.

I decided to see what all the fuss was about by reading one of the Sharpe’s Adventure Series books, and was informed that Sharpe’s Rifles was the place to start. It is set in Spain in January, 1809 after the disastrous British defeat by the French at the Battle of Corunna. Like Matterhorn, another war novel I recently read, I left this book with a sense of having personally experienced, albeit vicariously, the hardship, defeat and triumph of war.

In one sentence Sharpe’s Rifles is an adventure story about a man who deals with great obstacles in his personal life while facing mortal danger on the battlefield, and emerges triumphant on both fronts. Some of the dialog between characters is timeless and memorable and a joy to read. There are full reviews at Amazon for anyone who’s interested.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: